Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 JLUR, 20 JLUR, 21 JL, 21 GCL, 89 YJ, 04 LJ
Occupation
Forester
Vehicle Showcase
Is anyone having an issue with their 4x4 not working? I've brought mine into the dealer twice and they can't seem to pinpoint the issue, which is:

When the Jeep is cold it goes into 4H and 4L perfectly, no issues. But after i drive it for a few hours it won't go into 4H, BUT i can shift into 2L...that's correct, I can shift into L but the front axle won't engage. If i turn off the Jeep and let it rest for about 20 minutes I can shift it into 4H and 4L without any issues. But if i take it out of 4H, I have to start the process over again. Needless to say this is very frustrating and frankly not very cool since i use my Jeep for work.

I'm no mechanic but it seems like the mechanical transfer case is working fine, but the electronic parts that engage the front axle are screwed up somehow. (I may have that all wrong).

Any help is appreciated.
Sponsored

jeepster345

First Name
Hunter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JLUS
Is anyone having an issue with their 4x4 not working? I've brought mine into the dealer twice and they can't seem to pinpoint the issue, which is:

When the Jeep is cold it goes into 4H and 4L perfectly, no issues. But after i drive it for a few hours it won't go into 4H, BUT i can shift into 2L...that's correct, I can shift into L but the front axle won't engage. If i turn off the Jeep and let it rest for about 20 minutes I can shift it into 4H and 4L without any issues. But if i take it out of 4H, I have to start the process over again. Needless to say this is very frustrating and frankly not very cool since i use my Jeep for work.

I'm no mechanic but it seems like the mechanical transfer case is working fine, but the electronic parts that engage the front axle are screwed up somehow. (I may have that all wrong).

Any help is appreciated.