Sponsored

3.6L vs 2.0 turbo?? Pros and cons of both??

JEB-A-RONI

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2005 Jeep Wrangler TJ
Hi all,
I am new to the JL fam. I currently am a loud and proud owner of a 2005 TJ with the 4 liter straight 6, but recently have been having issues with it (body rust as I live on the East Coast) and have ultimately decided to put it up for sale and purchase a newer Jeep. I will be outright buying this "new" Jeep, so I can only afford a 2018 or 2019, not a brand new 2020 or 2021. I know that I for sure want a Rubicon. The thing that I am stuck on is which engine to get. I have been hearing great things about the new turbo, but I really don't know what to do.

My question is: Should I get one with a 3.6L or the 2.0 Turbo? What are the pros and cons to both? My primary concern is longevity, I want to keep this Jeep for a long time and have the least possible issues with it. Which engine would be in closest comparison (I know neither one is the same at all) to the 4.0 in the TJ's?

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated!!
Sponsored

dspilman

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JL Rubicon 2-Door 3.6L Manual, 1997 TJ Sport 2-Door 4.0L Manual;
Occupation
Architect
I was also the proud owner of a TJ, however a few years older, mine was a 1997. I loved that Jeep and put a lot of blood sweat and tears into it. I loved the 4.0L straight six and it served me well. Partially due to my attachment to the 6 cylinder, I elected for the 3.6L in my 2019. However the primary deciding factor was the if I wanted a manual transmission I only had one choice. The MT was a non-negotiable for me. Iā€˜m super happy with the 3.6 so far. Iā€™ve got about 15,000 miles on it so far and it performs great, even with 37ā€ tires on it. My recommendation is the 3.6 with a MT.

DaltonGang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sport S, Rubicon Suspension, Tires, and Rims. Firecracker Red