Sponsored

3.6L stock issue (everyone should have this)

BullittEV

First Name
Edward
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Sport S, 2017 Corvette GS
There are a few circumstances that could be the issue. I understand the basics of vehicles but I am not a mechanic or have that in depth knowledge.

On the 3.8L and the 3.6L I've noticed that there seems to be a throttling issue at around the 50+mph speeds. It gets up to speed fine but at highway speeds when I am looking for an even powerband- it is stagnant as I push the pedal down, which seems like it does nothing to alert the ECU to increase RPM's. When the pedal gets to about 75% it jumps RPM's, hard- example from 2500-4000, instantly.

I figured this issue was isolated to my older 2008 3.8L JKU but I test drove a 2021 3.6 and it does the same exact thing.

-It doesnt do this on my buddies 2020 2-dr Rubicon with a manual transmission.

So it's narrowed down to a few things:

-The 3.45 gear ratio
-The extra weight of the 4dr
-ECU Throttle control
-The auto transmission lag (although it was a 4spd from 2008 vs the 8speed on the 2021)

Or maybe a combination of these.. Would love an experienced view on this issue that seemingly comes with all 4dr autos.
Sponsored

Stuckinthesand

First Name
CJ
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler Sport S
I’m pretty sure it has to do with the drive by wire throttle. I also have the 3.6 8 speed and noticed the same thing after 50mph. Did some research and found this is very common(99%) complaint with jeeps in general. I just ordered the hikeit throttle controller as I have read good things about it and it’s cheaper than some of the other throttle controllers out there. Going to see how this works out. All the videos on YouTube that use the hikeit all are very happy with it.

OP
OP

BullittEV

First Name
Edward
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)