Sponsored

2022 Willys XR or Rubicon 2.0?

15 Pieces of Rick Flair

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Tesla 3
Getting ready to order a 2022 Wrangler. We were set on a Rubicon 2.0 as the XR plus V6 put us over budget. Now its possible to order a Willys with the XR and the price difference pays for the engine upgrade.

I’m a Jeep newbie so I’m looking for opinions on the pros and cons of each. I’m not a rock crawler, looking to get back into off-roading. My dad had a 1969 Bronco that I grew up in but I’ve never owned a 4x4. The Rubicon is plenty capable for what I’d throw at it in the foreseeable future. A stock Willys probably is too, actually. :LOL:
Sponsored

Deleted member 73239

For me it really depends how you will use the Jeep. For a lot of off roading it’s hard to deny the 4.10 gears, beefy transfer case, lockers and sway-bar disconnects of the Ruby. If it’s just the occasional dirt road and mainly a black-top commuter then it really doesn’t matter.

rmenley

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
I posted a similar thread. I’m trying to decide between the Willys XR and the Rubi 2.0 since the price is literally identical for the options I have spec’d. I don’t do heavy crawling (my last rubicon - a gladiator - never saw off road, and I used to bang the hell out of my jeeps when I was younger).

Even though I kind of had my heart set on the 4-banger - I’m leaning toward the 3.6 Willy’s. The 44 axles with a LSD in the rear is all I’ll need and in my mind 4.56 gears from the factory is the deciding edge.
With either Jeep - I’d immediately go 37s - and the 35 inch wheel and tire pkg could EASILY be sold for 2k-2500 in this climate which would get me 37s and more custom wheels at almost a wash. And with the minor suspension boost of the XR, 37s would clear easily with the fender chop. And when I do decide to go “real” lift, the XR suspension is an easy sell.