Sponsored

Rico1111

First Name
Rico
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon 2 door JL
Agreed there def is a lot more going on! that does not detract from the fact that the tire/wheel is forced back (by the fixed battering ram)causing the axle to pivot sending the passanger wheel forward and under allowing the perfect recipe for going over...the back wheels are almost up in the air depending on the front 1 wheel which was compromised. It happened to the JL in all the tests they ran. I am not an engineer..But I can clearly see that is what's happening. I Think Aldo98229 is onto something by stating the JL is also higher than the JK so that may also factor into it.
Sponsored

Jtphoto

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Rubicon Xtreme Recon Granite Crystal
It's not just the safety though. This is really bad because Jeep made specific changes to fix the problem. That means that Jeep is doubly incompetent at engineering because they both (1) failed to fix the problem and (2) to accurately assess whether they had fixed the problem. It's one thing to not prioritize safety but another to spend several years attempting to fix a problem and failing miserably.
This is not what you think. If it’s flipping it’s because the front tire is walking up the wall as it is absorbing the crash. Bring that Jeep over another 6’ or a foot and the results would be the same as the JK, No roll over.

azwjowner

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JL; 2004 WJ (sold but never forgotten)
This is not what you think. If it’s flipping it’s because the front tire is walking up the wall as it is absorbing the crash. Bring that Jeep over another 6’ or a foot and the results would be the same as the JK, No roll over.
Yes but the test is precisely specified and Jeep announced they made changes to improve the performance *on the test* and then failed miserably for a second time. I agree with you that in real life you're unlikely to strike at this exact location.

HBDiesel