First Name
Aces
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Rubicon 2D, with extra guacamole
Occupation
I'm often occupied, by many things, often at the same time
Thinking about ditching the stock 33" tires for some 31" tires. Will that look stupid on a Rubicon?

Thinking it'll give me better torque for off road. I do pretty difficult trails and think the additional torque will be great.

Any suggestions on tires for mixed rock and mud, for the PNW?
Sponsored

mjaga

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR Sting Grey
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty confident you want the larger sidewalls and to be aired down to be able to tackle the tough obstacles. In all my years of following YouTube channels etc I can't recall a time someone ever downsized their tires (and/or wheels) to increase their off road capability.

Take a look at the TFL videos comparing the JL to the Bronco to the Defender. The Defenders sidewalls were entirely too low profile and ruptured several times on a simple stone.

And if you're talking about decreasing wheel size too, yes I think that will look out of place.

blnewt

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep JL V6 SportS, (Retired 74 CJ-5, 80 CJ-7)
Occupation
Just ask @cosine he knows!
Thinking about ditching the stock 33" tires for some 31" tires. Will that look stupid on a Rubicon?

Thinking it'll give me better torque for off road. I do pretty difficult trails and think the additional torque will be great.

I would think your difficult trails would require more clearance not less?? Cooper Dicoverer STT Pro or Mickey Thompson Baja Boss MT would be about the best tires for rocks & mud but not sure if they have the smaller sizes. I'd stick w/ at least your stock size or more.

entropy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler Sport S JL 2-D
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Professional dancer/male stripper