Sponsored

2020 JLU Sahara Altitude vs Willys test drives (road manners)

RubberToeJLU

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU
Hi everyone, first post here!

I've been shopping for a Wrangler Unlimited for a couple of months and after driving some later model JKs I finally got to try a couple of JLs.

I took out a Sahara Altitude on Thursday and was quite impressed with its road manners compared to the JKs I drove. It felt pretty tight in the steering and didn't have much, if any lateral shake if you know what I mean. It was a demo vehicle with 8900 kms on it.

Friday I had the chance to take out a 2020 Willys and while I expected it to feel different due to the drastic difference in tires I was a bit surprised. It wasn't horrible by any means but the steering felt looser with a bit of play and the vehicle wandered a bit on the highway. Also a bit of lateral shake which I attributed to the tires & wheels.

A couple things come to mind. One is the steering issue on the JL that I've been reading about, that there can be some play, the "death wobble", etc, and that it's randomly worse on some vehicles. I see there's now a replacement steering box with steel housing that they'll swap in if you're having issues. I wonder if this has anything to do with the difference I felt.

Next is the tires and wheels. The Sahara has 18" wheels with street tires while the Willys has 17's with those gnarly firestones.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks!
Sponsored

aldo98229

First Name
Aldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Jeep Gladiator, 2018 Fiat 124 Spider
Occupation
Market Research
Vehicle Showcase
I test drove 12 JLs before buying, a combination of Saharas and Rubicons. I didn’t find any of them with a “tight” steering, but four had a steering that felt too vague for my liking.