2.0L Turbo Better at elevation?

Shinysideup

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
WRX, JLU soon
I'm new to Jeeps and planning to buy JLU soon. I'm excited to get into more offroading, but it'll also be my daily driver (replacing a beloved WRX wagon) as well. I recently moved to live above 5,000 and most of my planned destinations are even higher.

It seems the effect of elevation on the V6 would bring the effective HP below the 2.0L Turbo. With more torque, better fuel economy and electric assist on stop/start it's obvious choice. Right? Or am I missing something and will regret not getting a big NA engine?

Thanks for any advice. Regards.

-- Ryan
Sponsored

Last edited:

Grimmjpr

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 4xe
I would say you are correct. All engines N/A or forced induction will lose power at altitude but the forced induction will generally lose less power. If I ended up with a JL it would most likely be the 2.0 turbo. I live at about 4200 ft and spend time off road in areas much higher than that, I could definitely see the benefit of the forced induction for my uses.

alphalife9

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Z51 C6, Sting Gray JLUR
If choosing the auto trans no matter the engine choice, then yes the turbo will fair better at high elevation than the normally aspirated V6 as it is less affected by elevation once the boost comes on. The manual trans appears to have an edge on MPG on the 2 door JL compared to the auto trans. It would be interesting to see MPG differences between a manual trans V6 vs. auto trans 2.0T. The V6 engine with boost (I am sure there will be many options coming soon) is what I'd aim for.

I test drove an automatic JLUR at 7,000+ ft. above sea level and it was dare I say fast. I think power-wise, both engines will be plenty.

Grimmjpr

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 4xe