Loose steering feels like it has play and drifts

Dkretden

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR 3.6L
I am brand new to this issue and contemplating a JL or JT. Is the problem still present on more recent vehicles off the line? Is it seen on both JLs and JTs?
It seems that you may not have received an answer...... let me give you mine....

those with steering issues report them for 2018, 2019, and 2020 JLs and JTs (I think). That said, it is extremely difficult for me to understand what could be causing it. Some of it is likely new Jeep owners not understanding that a solid axle is not a IFS sedan. But that seems not to be the case for all as some experienced Jeep folks on this forum report significant problems too.

personally, I think that you should go to a dealer, find the vehicle that you want and TEST DRIVE it on the freeway (at speed) and city streets at speed. If you like the way it drives (and I will bet you do), buy it. If you don’t like the way it drives, test drive another one. And possibly a third. Still don’t like the way it drives? Walk away, and look for another vehicle.

I test drove one. It drives like the linked video. I would venture to say that most do. Take one for a spin......
Sponsored

BRuby

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR-A Benz-A Porsche-M Subie-M
I think that you should go to a dealer, find the vehicle that you want and TEST DRIVE it on the freeway (at speed) and city streets at speed. If you like the way it drives (and I will bet you do), buy it. If you don’t like the way it drives, test drive another one. And possibly a third. Still don’t like the way it drives? Walk away, and look for another vehicle.
Yep.

First Name
Rich
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL Rubicon 2-door 3.6L