Sponsored

Please explain like I am a 5 year old. New Tires, Gas Mileage drop.

wrangster

First Name
Ray
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sold the JLUS, New Ford Ranger 4X4 Lariat
Occupation
Retired and happy!
Vehicle Showcase
i havent noticed any detriment to my braking. I also dont drive my jeep like sports car either. Upgrading the brakes is not cheap and not worth it imo.
That's ok but your braking will never match that of stock. We have engineers for a reason!
Sponsored

wheels082

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU, 2010 JKU, 1994 XJ
I put on a lift and 315 STT Pro's and lost about 5 MPG on my JLU Sport. I used a Superchips tuner to correct tire size.

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
OK, I need some advice as well.
We just put on D44s with 4.10s in them and were already running the stock Rubi 33" tires. We used our Tazer mini to program in the new 4.10 gears and also the 33" tires. We have the 8 speed tranny.
The first thing I noticed is that this will launch off the line like a rocket ship and you can do fun burnouts as well :)
There are two things I am seeing on a serious note that I would value any input on.

First - I noticed that it barely stays in 1st gear and goes into 8th gear on roads that it would never have when I was running the stock 3.45 gears. With the stock Sahara gears and the 33" Rubi tires 8th gear only came in to play on open highway, 74 MPH and no touching the pedal. In other words... 8th wasn't used much. Now it's used all the time.

Second - I noticed it down shifts much harder than before. 1st and 2nd gear are not stayed in for long when speeding up but when slowing down I noticed a more aggressive down shift from 4th into 3rd, etc... The only person I know who went to D44s with 4.10s has a stick so I don't know if this is "normal" for the auto.