CahillUSM

First Name
Mac
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep JLU Altitude
Hey all,

I am brand new to the Jeep community with a 2020 JLU S Altitude. I am wanting to build it out for overlanding eventually. As the title says I am thinking of doing a Rock Krawler 2.5" flex lift and instead of the RRD Shocks, getting Rancho RS9000XL shocks. I like the Rock Krawler because from what I can tell it is the most complete kit that corrects for geometry while still being affordable. I like the Rancho shocks because from what I've read they ride really well both on and off road, are progressive shocks, and are adjustable. I originally thought about the AEV lift but read that it was super stiff unless you are loaded down. My main concern is that the Rancho shocks are 2" shocks while the lift is 2.5". Is that going to a problem? am I going about this the right way? Thanks for your help!

TL:DR Is the Rock Krawler 2.5" flex lift with the Rancho RS9000XL shocks a good combo?
Sponsored

UKCATS

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR Recon/2020 Mazda3 Hatchback
Occupation
I play piano in a whorehouse
My wife’s last JKUR had Rock Krawler springs and Rancho 9000Xl’s. It rode great. You can get longer 9000’s. I would do the ones for the 3.5” lift. Good luck.

Carlton

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeeps lots of jeeps
I agree about going with the 3.5 shock. A little extra length won't hurt with overlanding. During full drop of rock crawling you may damage your drive shaft. Not a concern for your purposes

OP
OP
CahillUSM

CahillUSM

First Name
Mac
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep JLU Altitude
I agree about going with the 3.5 shock. A little extra length won't hurt with overlanding. During full drop of rock crawling you may damage your drive shaft. Not a concern for your purposes
Can you explain that a little more? How the longer shocks could damage the drive shaft? thanks!

Arrowhead

First Name
George
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JL Sport