Sponsored

Normal driving for a lifted JL on 37" tires or not? Would appreciate some input.

Ski

First Name
Dale
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep JL Rubicon unlimited, 2009 Nissan Maxima
Okay Guys and Gals. I am completely new to the Jeep world as well as driving a vehicle with a lift kit and larger mud tires. I recently purchased a 2019 JL Rubicon unlimited, had a Mopar 2" lift installed by the dealership and put 37" Cooper Discoverer STT Pros (37 X 13.50 X R17) on it. Let me try to describe what I feel when driving the Jeep. It feels as if you really have to pay attention and actually work to keep the Jeep in your lane. I am not experiencing anything like some of the issues others have described with the death wobble and things like that. It just seems like you have to have constant driver input to maintain the vehicle in your lane, especially the faster the vehicle goes. I just want to know if this is normal and expected behavior when driving a lifted vehicle on mud type tires. I know it is a completely different vehicle than most others on the road, I just want to make sure it is normal to feel this type of driving behavior so I don't overlook something that could be wrong with the Jeep and just blow it off as that is what a vehicle like this probably feels like when driving it. Sorry for what some may think is a stupid question, I just have never experienced anything like this before and want to know it is normal for this kind of set-up. Thank you in advance for your input, it is appreciated.

Ski
Sponsored

D60

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL
Did you drive it before? Sounds like the problematic wandering common on many JL's

Unfortunately with no baseline it's difficult to know if your mods and tires are to blame

Carlton

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeeps lots of jeeps
I agree with the above post. Wranglers constantly require some driver input in regard to steering while driving. Large MT tires will increase this requirement.