Sponsored

Arizona JL Owners - summer heat getting your engine temps up?

loiacki

First Name
Kim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon JLU, 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Occupation
IT
Vehicle Showcase
I am having an issue and need to get some feedback from my fellow Arizona JL owners. I think my Rubi is running hot now that the temperatures have risen, but it could be my imagination/paranoia because of a couple recent issues. I had zero problems last summer, but I also didn't monitor the temps like a hawk. Could you guys tell me what your coolant and oil avg/high running temps are? My commute is 26 miles each way, so it takes a bit to get to max temp, but once it gets there it will drop when my RPM's are lower, and go right back up as soon as I accelerate.
Sponsored

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I am having an issue and need to get some feedback from my fellow Arizona JL owners. I think my Rubi is running hot now that the temperatures have risen, but it could be my imagination/paranoia because of a couple recent issues. I had zero problems last summer, but I also didn't monitor the temps like a hawk. Could you guys tell me what your coolant and oil avg/high running temps are? My commute is 26 miles each way, so it takes a bit to get to max temp, but once it gets there it will drop when my RPM's are lower, and go right back up as soon as I accelerate.
While the NC heat isn't as bad, we still get some hot ones and we've had both the Mrs. JL and my LJ off roading on hot days as well. That being said, at normal running temp you should be around that 210 mark. If you are off roading or sitting in stop and go traffic I would expect that to go up a little. Running the AC on Max cooling will cause your radiator fan to sound like a jet engine and really move some air across the engine.