Riderkjo

First Name
Kris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JL Sport, 16 Crosstrek
Vehicle Showcase
I made a deal with the stealership a few weeks ago and purchased an '18 JL Sport, manual transmission and power nothing. The vehicle didn't come with A/C, so we managed to work it into the sale because we need it 11 months of the year in SE Texas. After 'waiting my turn' to drop it off and going back and forth about parts availability, the dealer told me to bring it in and the mechanic should have everything taken care of in 7-10 days (there was an issue with the rear defroster connector being broken).
Does it really take 7-10 days to solder a connector and install a compressor/Freon? The dealer has had the vehicle for 6 business days already and It's been a hassle to get any straight answers from the salesman, "managers", and parts department...
Sponsored

ads75

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 2Door JL Rubicon in Mojito, 2022 Rivian R1T
I am not a mechanic, so I wouldn't tell them how long it should take them to install it. If its been 6 days, thats frustrating, but still less than their projected time.

But it is more than installing a compressor. Also has to be hooked into the ventilation system. I am guessing installing AC is something they don't do too often, most people probably buy it with the AC, or they don't want the AC since they will be running topless.

OP
OP

Riderkjo

First Name
Kris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JL Sport, 16 Crosstrek
Vehicle Showcase
I am actually surprised that there are any Jeeps in Houston on a dealer lot without AC.

Which dealership?
Bayway Chrysler in Pasadena. There aren't many that don't already have AC.

Sponsored

mwilk012

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Ocean Blue JLU Rubicon
Occupation
Service
I haven’t done A/C work on any modern vehicle, but it’s never an easy job. Installing the whole system sounds miserable.

Chocolate Thunder

First Name
Jeremy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)