Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR MANUAL Mojito!
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
Hello all!

This is not my idea: i've seen a few guys do it and i really liked it, so wanted to show my process in this. I am not a painting pro, so dont take this process as bible. Just wanted to put out my ideas, even if it's just a starting place for others.

Tools Needed (I will explain all as we go)
  • Spray Paint (Paint matched)
  • Spray Paint (Primer) Optional depending on color
  • Spray Paint (Clear Coat)
  • Exacto Knife
  • Painters Tape
  • Trim Tool or FlatHead
  • (Optional)
  • M4x16mm screws
  • #10 Washers
  • Black touch up paint
First remove the speaker grills. The fronts are held in by clips. Simply use a trim tool or flathead to pry up. They should come off easily. The rears are help in by 4 screws each - 4.5mm allens will get these out.

Be sure to wipe your grills down with a degreaser/cleaner and wipe with water.

Once you have the grills removed, we'll use painters tape to cover the all grills:
IMG_7521.JPG

Using a trim tool or flathead, push down and follow the "indents" around the grill. This will help to cut the painters tape (to shape):
IMG_8333.JPG

Showing all grills with pushed down indents:
IMG_9843.JPG

Take your exacto knife and follow your indents, to create the shape of where the paint will land:
IMG_2089.JPG

After you cut and pull away the tape, the tape might not be exactly close to the ridge (depending on how well you cut). Use a trim tool to "run the channel" or push the tape back towards the middle:
IMG_4470.JPG

All 4 trimmed and prepped. Ready for paint. Be sure to give 1 last wipedown with water (Soap if you feel the need)
IMG_0753.JPG

For the rear grills, i would suggest taping the speaker holes on the back of the grill. It will help spray not come back up and accidentally show paint on the grill (from the underside). You shouldn't have to worry about the fronts:
IMG_3206.JPG