Sponsored

First Report on 6 Speed--Drove it Home!!

Billy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1997 TJ, 2022 JTRD
Vehicle Showcase

robplumm

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2012 JKUR in Dozer
Interesting on the clutch. Coming from a TJ to a JK was a HUGE difference. The catch point is so low on the JK comparatively. It's worked "up" over the last 5 years with use...but I can't tell you how many times the wife and I stalled the damn thing initially. The TJ catch point was just so much higher...like near the top of t

zyt

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mazda Miata
I just picked up my manual JL last night and wanted to share some of my thoughts. I've been driving a manual 06 Miata for about 8 years, it always shift super smooth and it is a blast to drive around. I know it is unfair to compare JL vs miata, but they are the only two manual transmissions I've driven.

Clutch: I am totally surprised on JL's clutch. It is short, effortless, and even better than miata.
Shifter: obviously it is longer throw comparing to a sports car, gears are not quiet as clear as Miata, but both are totally expected. Shifter nob is really nice quality, and it is the same as Rubi's. I was actually expecting a cheaper version on my sports model. That nob is a great touch. Reverse is super easy as well. There is no rattling on the shifter what so ever. So simply put, I think this 6sp is as good as the 6sp on my Miata. JL has much more torque which makes its manual easier to drive than Miata's.

Things I am still adjusting:
Miata is very Rev happy, the best and smoothest shifting happens around 3000-3500 RPM just for normal drive around town.
I've never driven a V6 before, so I haven't figure out the best RPM for shifting. I shift around 2500 rpm on JL, then I found myself cruising around 65mph at 2200 rpm, but I was still on 5th gear. Should I shift it into 6th and run at a lower rpm?

@DanW if you could chime in what speed/rmp you normally shift, it'd be much appreciated.