Sponsored

Tail Wiring for flat towing with 2018 Wrangler Unlimited Sport JL?

RussJeep1

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU Sahara
RussJeep1 I'm new to the Jeep scene but coming off towing vehicles behind our motorhome on a tow dolly for almost 20 years we are done with hooking things up for the tow dolly and tow vehicle and we just want the simpler life of getting it setup right once and for all and be done with it. We also went for a tow bar to eliminate the tow dolly all together. Much easier.

Same goes with the supplemental braking, I don't want a unit that I need to setup and take out of the Jeep every time which is why I am going with the Air Force One braking unit. It's a one time install and we are good to go.

Just my feelings.

Michelle
Thanks for the explanation. I now get that brake controllers not withstanding, my suggestion would have worked and been cheaper, but that you were willing to pay for convenience--which is not only perfectly cool and sensible, but something I might have opted for as well depending upon the frequency that I effected said tow, and my adversion to the extra work each time.
Sponsored

MtCamper

First Name
Ken
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 jlUR White Rubi, 2018 GMC 3500 Duramax,
Occupation
Retired Snowbird
Ok, I' ll weigh in with how I did it. I have a Rubi and I wanted to keep anything from hanging down (like a baseplate). I went with a RockHard aluminum bumper to keep weight off. It came with a good shield as well. I added the RockHard base for Blue Ox. I went with a brake buddy and used its breakaway setup. I use the "Jury rigged" magnetic lights because the bikes on the back of my jeep are obscured by them. Besides it was an easy plug and play into the 4 prong. I flat tow my Jeep behind my fifth wheel and this setup works very well.

OP
OP
JerseyJeepGirl

JerseyJeepGirl

First Name
Michelle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Unlimited
All,