Differential Fluid

rizej

First Name
Jared
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
What are people using for their diff fluid when replacing the diff covers? The manual states SAE 75W85 (API GL-5) but particularly I'm interested in which brands. I see that Red Line has a 75w85 and Mobil 1 only has 75w90 so would it be better to use the Red Line gear oil...
Sponsored

JIMBOX

First Name
JAMES
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
CHEROKEE TRAILHAWK/ JEEP GLADIATOR
Occupation
RETIRED
I've been using VALVOLINE 75W-140 SYNTHETIC for over18 years---Synthetics diff fluids were recommended in all the JK jeeps diff. and because the RING/PINION are of the same design, I still useit-

Dana recommends it and YUKON Recommend it-
Can't beatit-

W.E.

JIMBO

vavaroutsos

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Sprinter Crew Van 2500 High Roof 144" WB OM651 Brilliant Silver, 2019 JLR 3.6L 6SPD Granite Crystal
What are people using for their diff fluid when replacing the diff covers? The manual states SAE 75W85 (API GL-5) but particularly I'm interested in which brands. I see that Red Line has a 75w85 and Mobil 1 only has 75w90 so would it be better to use the Red Line gear oil...
Redline usually makes top notch oils using high end Ester synthetic bases. They are a smaller company, so they don't usually spend the money to get manufacture approval on many of their products. Amsoil also makes pretty good products, and do spend the money for manufacture approval on many. I use Amsoil and some European brands (Europe seems to get better oils than the US, even from brands available in both locations) on engines that are still under warranty. For oils that don't require a manufacture approval, I often use Redline.

OP
OP
rizej

rizej

First Name
Jared
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR