Washing the Jeep

Archer85

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JL Sport S
I always have trouble with drying my jeep. I have two large microfiber towels for drying but so much water stays on after the wash that when i try to wipe it down the towels get soaked and i can never truly dry it quickly. In videos the ppl hold two ends of the towel and lightly drag it across the vehicle and its bone dry........that's not my case. The towels are older and im new to washing/waxing (since now i have something i want to take care of), should i get new towels? Maybe have like 5 microfiber towels to rotate once one get damp? Any suggestions? I did first wax last week, will water bead off better with more wax's?
Sponsored

DaltonGang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sport S, Rubicon Suspension, Tires, and Rims. Firecracker Red
I just use some retired bath towels. It usually takes two large ones. The only issue is the lint left behind. For that, i just do a quick swipe with a dry towel. Fast and easy.

DaltonGang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Let me add this one thing. Water will bead better, with a good wax. The water will pool, on the flat surfaces, which means more towels . The vehicle will also stay cleaner, with a good wax. Dirt and dust will sluff off better.

Shenanigans

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU Rubi
I only use two small microfibers. I use one to get most of the water off and keep wringing it out. The second towel is to follow and actually dry. Towards the end, the second towel gets pretty damp.

Sponsored

DaltonGang

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I started using a leaf blower to dry after a wash. Works much better than towels, avoids scratches and get the water out of all the tight areas.
I got lazy a few times, and did that with the wifes car. She never new. :giggle:

Rhinebeck01

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 JL Rubi, '22 Prevost M H3-45,'01 Harley FatBoy