Who loves their soft top?

OldGuyNewJeep

First Name
Don
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JL, 2016 Yukon XL
Good info in this thread. Question. Keep in mind I'm totally new to soft tops.

Do I have to worry about the side or rear windows flying off at highway speeds if I am in the sunrider position and/or without doors? seems like a lot of wind would be coming through and putting pressure on those windows. I noticed earlier in this thread someone noted the problem, but it wasn't really explained or expounded on. If I can't ride in the sunrider position with the windows installed at 70 to 80 MPH it will be a bummer

I sometimes (on accident of course) exceed the speed limit.
Sunrider is fine. I can’t envision a scenario where you have doors off and windows on.
Sponsored

stuckinohio

First Name
Lewis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler Sport S 4 Door
I was just thinking I could see myself taking the doors off and taking the top down. Then because I live in ohio it suddenly starts pouring down rain. I stop and put the top up, then the windows but I can't do anything about the doors and I head for home. (Complicated by the fact that they're are no aftermarket doors available yet).

It's possible I would decide just to leave the windows off too, depending on if I had passengers or not, so it might be a moot point, but it could happen quite easily it seems. I pretty much hate having the doors on.

I can, oldguy---from what I've read in this forum !!!

W.E.

JIMBO

Majestic

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 JKUR, 2019 JLUR
Great question! I haven't heard of anything in our meetings but let me check on that for you!

CassieAtBestop
Since the JL windows aren’t designed to roll up anyway, any possibility of offering a hard window panes to replace the soft windows?
No need to keep those vinyl windows around anymore.

Thebigv

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 jl unlimited sport