Sponsored

Is a Wrangler really what I'm looking for?

Jrbrannan

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR Ocean Blue 2008 Highlander Hybrid (previously several CJ-7, YJ, TJ, JK)
Vehicle Showcase
Hate to sound like a broken record but there is a ton of good advice. Buy a low mileage I have bought ones with under 50k miles for 11k or so, they have great motors 4.0 and are super simple to work on. Don't buy a 35k dollar car when you aren't making real money yet.
Sponsored

Indio

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1998 Jeep TJ, 1985 Jeep CJ-7, 1972 Series III Land Rover
Occupation
Procrastinator
At school, I'm studying to be a Geologist. My dream is, once I'm done with school, to move out west to somewhere like Wyoming and work for the Park Service or something. Where I can get out and work with a big sky overhead. I'm also an angler who is looking to expand his spinning gear to learning to fly fish (especially if I move out west and can get near some trout waters) as well as a Rucker (currently using a 20lb weight while I hike around). I'm also looking into getting a kayak since I'm currently shore bound as an angler.
If you do end up out west - definitely get some type of 4x4 open top vehicle like the Wrangler. I enjoyed my decade in Colorado immensely exploring the mountain trails, and my CJs and Land Rover were a key part of that. If not a new JL, then as suggested maybe a used JK. I would say maybe CJ or other old 4x4, but last couple summers in Colorado I noticed the old CJ/FJ/Broncos were getting fewer and far between. Great thing about an older 4x4 is you can have a lot of fun and not care about bumps, scratches or crushed sheetmetal. And all you need is liability insurance with lower yearly registration as well in some states. Everything you own - in some way owns you. And a $40 grand vehicle really owns you, lol. But regardless - get an open top Jeep and enjoy the exploring!

Crazyramses

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)