Sponsored

Am I Special Needs? 🤟🤪🤙

Jerpy

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4xe
I have been working on my latest Jeep mod and it is not going well.

This is the 3rd big aftermarket accessory I have bought and almost every time an installation is listed as taking only a couple of hours it winds up taking me like 2 days. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, but I do know how to use tools, follow instructions, and do basic stuff.

I guess what I'm really asking is do other people have as hard of a time with these types of installs (drilling into frame, lining up bolt holes, mounting accessories, etc.) or is it just me?

UPDATE: it looks like the company sent me the wrong size hardware (spacers were too big preventing bolts from catching). I am elated that it wasn't a me problem, but super pissed that their blunder cost me so much wasted time, energy, and 4-letter words. 🤬
Sponsored

Last edited:

Elada20

First Name
Raniero
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Well, if you are not that good with tools and following instructions, probably it’s not a good idea to drill into frames. Usually it takes me a bit longer than the suggested time but not by that much. At the end of the day it’s relaxing to work on your rig, who cares if it takes a bit longer?
cheers!!

lowmpg

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon
I find that most instructions and 'time' estimates are based on a person that did the job 500 times and then wrote instructions. :)

Tpom

First Name
Tyler
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR
Build Thread
Link
Clubs

Depending on the install, I do tend to take longer than what is advertised as well. For me its less about getting a project done or part installed as fast as possible. I enjoy the process of modifying the Jeep, and I am also a perfectionist. I prefer to go above and beyond the requirements.