69charged

First Name
Clarence
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 wrangler unlimited 2.0
Hey all.
We currently have a 22 Sting Grey JLU Sahara for my wife, and I drive a 21 F150 XLT. Due to her work, they pay a portion of her Jeep. Well, as luck would have it, she's worked hard enough that they may pay a portion of a second Jeep. I'm stuck in a predicament of getting rid of my truck to get another Jeep. I know I'm on a Jeep forum, and everyone will say to get another one. So, I have been looking at possibly getting a Sting Grey Gladiator Rubicon with the diesel. I've owned diesel Superduty's since 03, so I'm very familiar with diesels. I'm also a mechanic by trade, so that helps when stuff breaks.
I would like to maybe get out on the trails more if I get this. We also intend to buy a wake boat, around the 4000LBS range. In the future maybe a smaller camper.
My plans for the Gladiator would include 35's, maybe 37's. And the appropriate lift to go with that. Hence the reason I wanted the diesel. That is until I looked at the price increase for the option. I would drive it to work daily, which is about 60kms one way, so the engine will get plenty warm to facilitate regens and stuff.
What are your thoughts on pulling that weight, with a lift and tires? I see they get pretty decent mileage with the diesel. I would also strongly consider a re-gear as well. Just trying to convince myself to get rid of my brand new truck! I don't really load my truck to the nines either. And I don't load gravel in it or dirt. Was thinking of getting a heavy duty utility trailer for real nasty hauling.
Financially its the right thing to do.
If I'm not going to be doing extreme off road stuff, is it better to get a lower trim? I have been reading up on everything I can find, and it seems axles are the main topic when people are talking about 37's.
Sorry for the long winded post, just looking for opinions and suggestions.
Thanks all for taking the time to read!
Clarence
Sponsored