Sponsored

rkj__

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sierra, Countryman, RZR
Neat, but I wouldn't do any significant plowing with anything less than a 3/4 ton pickup truck with heavy duty cooling and transmission.
That said, light duty vehicles can be great for "insignificant" plowing, IMO. By insignificant, I mean a single driveway.

I bought a light duty plow for my half ton last season. I enjoyed clearing my driveway (~300ft long), while sitting in the heated cab of my truck. The plow never left my driveway. I have no intentions of ever driving down the road with the plow attached.
Sponsored

MaineBumpkin

First Name
Henri
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Wrangler JLU, 2021 RAM 1500
Build Thread
Link
I've seen a few Jeeps with plows around here and I've been plowing for about 40 years years now. I've used 1/2 ton trucks, 3/4 ton trucks and a Tacoma to plow our private road and a couple of neighborhood drives. I've never had a serious problem with any of the vehicles as a result of plowing. That said, I quickly decided to steer clear of putting a plow on our Jeep because the push plates kill the approach angle (based on what I have seen for plow options).

I'd encourage checking out the Fisher HT. Fisher has been doing this for a LONG time and I've had very good luck with their plows.

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR
I plowed with a ‘97 TJ for a few years and never had a issue. I set up the Jeep to handle the extra weight of the plow (6.5’ Sno-Way) by using Grand Cherokee V8 springs, and Timbren (?) overload bags. The Jeep sagged just a little with the plow on, and drove great the rest of the year. I found that if you used good common sense when plowing (push at 2”, keep your speed down in transport and angle the blade properly to prevent overheating, don’t use it as a bulldozer) and otherwise don’t use the Jeep and plow carelessly,you should be fine. I handled light commercial lots and driveways with zero issues. Just my two-cents.