Aldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Jeep Gladiator, 2018 Fiat 124 Spider
Occupation
Market Research
Vehicle Showcase
I think all seasons tires is what was originally meant, but I'm not sure. I would definitely want all seasons. I'm a bit of a novice with the terminology, but general road/highway tires -- that's the idea. Thanks.
There are 3 broad categories of tires:
  1. All-Season - mostly for on-road use. They are comfortable, quiet and last a long time. They provide sure braking and handling; handle dry and wet pavement well
  2. All-Terrain - for a mixture of on-road and off-road use. They are relatively quiet, ride a little harsher than all seasons, but handle foul weather much better, including snow, slush and often times, ice. Most ATs last 50,000 miles
  3. Mud-Terrain - They are aggressive, knobby tires, excellent for off-road use. They look cool, but are heavy, noisy, have limited on-road dynamics, and normally don’t last as long as the others
IMO, all-terrains are the best all-around tire on a Jeep.
Sponsored

blnewt

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep JL V6 SportS, (Retired 74 CJ-5, 80 CJ-7)
Occupation
Just ask @cosine he knows!
blnewt - This is great info - thanks again! Yes, my CJ is in good condition, though the engine does smoke a little. It has a small engine - 151 (Iron Duke?), and it's a 4 speed manual, but with very little rust. Here's a photo. I'm going to miss it, but it's time to move on.
Our1980CJ5 1 - Copy.JPG
Nice CJ! Our 80 CJ7 had the same Pontiac Iron Duke motor, not a great motor to be sure, but one good thing that is a plus, that pontiac bell housing makes it easy to do a GM motor swap.

You should be able to get some decent coin for that CJ, I would definitely check what others are selling for and don't take some lowballer. Vintage CJs are getting hard to find in reasonable shape, and yours certainly qualifies.

OP
OP
MaggieGirl

MaggieGirl

First Name
Maggie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)