Sponsored
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rogue Toad

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 JLU Rubicon
Ford can’t hide behind the pandemic. They managed a pretty smooth Bronco Sport launch during the same time.
Um, because the Bronco Sport is very strongly based on an existing vehicle, the Escape. The Bronco is much more a brand new vehicle, which is a lot harder than badge-engineering.

Ford screwed up by making too many promises too early, like I said. But I worked in the auto industry for many years and still have a lot of friends at all of the Detroit 3. This pandemic has screwed a lot of stuff up outside of their control, and you really can't blame Ford for cancelling semiconductors early in 2020 when you recall how badly the 2008 recession went for the auto industry when they *didn't* react fast enough.

But hey, don't let me get in the way of the Ford bashing.
Sponsored

multicam

First Name
Tanner
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 4Runner, 2019 JLR
Vehicle Showcase
The Bronco launch wasn't failed so much as over-promised initially and then various delays, some of which were out of Ford's control (Covid) happened. I dunno why so many companies from autos to video games, announce launch dates too far in advance to be sure they will happen. Delays are normal, but once you've committed to a date you'll be held accountable to it.
You hit the nail on the head right here... the Bronco is the Cyberpunk 2077 of the automobile industry. In development for a decade, wildly overhyped, buggy on release and ultimately a big disappointment.

aldo98229

First Name
Aldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Jeep Gladiator, 2018 Fiat 124 Spider
Occupation
Market Research
Vehicle Showcase
There’s some sort of pandemic every 25 years; a major one every 100 years.

Ford took so freaking long developing Bronco that it was only a matter of time until it ran into the next one. 😫

ThirtyOne

Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.jeepdoodles.com
Vehicle(s)