Towing trailer - questions

Tahoma

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Moab
Vehicle Showcase
Hi All,

I have 2019 MOAB on 37” tires, lifted 2.5”.
I see it says it can tow a maximum 3,500lbs. Does my lift and large tires have any effect on the towing capacity?

I’ve also never towed. Any supplies I’ll need other than the trailer and hitch?
Sponsored

TrailTorque

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU
Vehicle Showcase
What do you plan on towing?

I’m not an expert in towing but here’s my .2 cents:

If you’re not going near Max tow then you’ll be fine, you just need to find a quality drop hitch and ensure your hitch receiver is torqued to the proper specs.

Like with towing anything especially a lifted vehicle with heavy tires your acceleration will decrease (obviously) and your braking distance will need to increase (obviously).

You’ll be fine with a quality drop hitch.

Edit:

Maybe @X99104 can help with the details, he tows.

_olllllllo_

First Name
William
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Hellayella JLU Rubicon 6-speed
I have purchased, but not received, a teardrop trailer. It has trailer brakes and weighs 1700 lbs dry. I have a 2019 JLUR with the tow package and will have to add a Tow-Pro Elite electric brake controller from Redarc (I can't use the Mopar version as I have the 6-speed manual) to activate the trailer brakes. I will have to determine if the current 2" drop hitch I have is enough or if I will need a 4" drop as I will have 35" tires on the Jeep by the time I pick it up and possibly a 2.5" lift as well.

QC22

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLURR
Your 37s combined with Moab gear ratio (3.73?) is generally considered to have a negative impact on towing capacity.

OP
OP

Tahoma

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Moab
Vehicle Showcase
Towing a 5x8 U-Haul trailer for camping

Sponsored

Steve F

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR, JKU