What's the Deal with the Antenna?

ERC4

First Name
Gene
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Wrangler Sahara Altitude, 2019 M5, 2017 LX570
I'm a Jeep newbie who just bought a Sahara Altitude. I'm more impressed with the vehicle than I expected. My only question is about the 35 inch antenna which is mounted on the front passenger side. It's mounted securely but at highway speeds it flies back and forth and makes a lot of noise. Are there any aftermarket alternatives I should consider? Thanks in advance.
Sponsored

BamaJeepTruck

Banned
Banned
Banned
First Name
Derek
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator
One of the first things I swapped was the antenna. Search Jeep Antenna on Amazon and you’ll have 1,000 options. I went with a 9inch, I think it was $20. No change in reception and looks so much better.
Jeep Wrangler JL What's the Deal with the Antenna? AA887EF5-A7C8-4F82-A1D1-6ACE524F0CFB

viper88

First Name
Nick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'19 JLR 2.0T (past), '22 JLR 3.6 (present)
What kind of noise? Are you talking about a knocking noise or wind noise? The antenna should not make any noises. Double check and see if it is FULLY tighten. Some people replace them with shorter antennas for esthetics but that reduces reception. Personally I like the height of the stock antenna. It's a reliable ceiling "feeler" for low overhead garages. Hit the brakes if you hear the scrape! Lol.

Last edited:

Sponsored

Reinen

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Wrangler JL Rubicon
I'm a Jeep newbie who just bought a Sahara Altitude. I'm more impressed with the vehicle than I expected. My only question is about the 35 inch antenna which is mounted on the front passenger side. It's mounted securely but at highway speeds it flies back and forth and makes a lot of noise. Are there any aftermarket alternatives I should consider? Thanks in advance.