Sponsored

Tesla adapter to J1772 would work on the 4XE?

McStatic

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
4xe
I had a Tesla HPWC (High Powered Wall Charger) for my Model X that I traded in for the 4xe. With the J1772 adapter, it worked on my wife's 2021 Pacifica Hybrid but would not work on my Jeep. During my attempts to make it work on my Jeep, I fried the HPWC... oh well. I ordered a new Level 2 (link below) and had that installed in place of the HPWC (had the electrician install an outlet versus hardwire for better future-proofing).

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07THBGGMG/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Just a note for anyone moving from a HPWC to a Level 2 charger, the HPWC uses 3 wires (positive, negative, ground). Any/All Level 2 chargers above 20amps requires 4 wires (positive, negative, ground, neutral) and therefore, my electrician had to run an additional wire to make the Level 2 outlet (14-50) work. I am not an electrician so someone may correct this, but this is what I was told.
Sponsored

aginoc

First Name
Adam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Wrangler 4xe High Altitude
Just took delivery of my 4Xe and tried to charge it using the Tesla charger in my garage using the Lectron adapter
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YFY768S?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

It was a no go - not sure why. But the car had a message saying there was an "issue detected" and the Tesla charger started flashing red (which I've never seen before). I had no problem using the 110V wall charger that came with the 4xe, so there's a compatibility issue with the adapter it appears (at least with my set up).

I'm going to look into a different adapter.

lightsout

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 4xe Rubicon, 2018 Wrangler Sahara JL, Tesla S
Build Thread
Link
Just took delivery of my 4Xe and tried to charge it using the Tesla charger in my garage using the Lectron adapter