Sponsored

21 JL first outing, what did i do wrong?

Bobbys

First Name
Bobby
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon
Ok so i took my jeep rubicon on its first outing on saturday.
Mind you im new to jeeps and wheelin.
Jeep is a totally stock JL Diesel rubicon

I tried 4 wheel low with lockers on for kicks. Wow did it make a racket. Is that normal?

The other thing i notices was, wow i had like zero brakes. Why did i all of a sudden have a mushy brake pedal? This was a very mild trail.

I also tried the 4X4 offroad cruise control, wow that thing is strange as hell. The jeep made even more groans and noise with that on.

The other thing that happened was, i noticed it popped out of 4 wheel drive twice and kicked itself into neutral.

What the hell did i do wrong?
Sponsored

desmo2

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'97 TJ '97-'11. '21 billet silver JLR
4 low and lockers are for very low speed, crawling over rough terrain. If you are on a trail resembling more of a rough road, all you need is 4WD. If the terrain has too much traction, you will bind up your drive train in sharper turns. You shouldn't even be using 4WD on dry pavement, and for goodness sake don't use the lockers on dry pavement!

If you are asking too much speed of your 4L and lockers, it may well make unsavory noises.

OP
OP

Bobbys

First Name
Bobby
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon
Thanks, any idea why i all off a sudden had no brakes?

ToolMan514

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 Rubicon 4xe
It happens to many of us that the first few times you put it in 4L that it pops out. After 3 years, I still have to make sure to "slam" it into 4L to make sure it stays.

Like mentioned above, do not use lockers on dry pavement. Turning will put a lot of force on your axles shafts.

The reason it feels like you don't have brakes is because of the amount of torque in 4L, especially with the diesel.

OP
OP

Bobbys

First Name
Bobby
Threads
Reaction score