Sponsored

Guide me here... I'm a life-long manual transmission driver & I am considering making the change to automatic only because I want the diesel! Crazy?

deserteagle56

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrangler Rubicon
I am not in a position to speak for the crowd but my perception is that a commonly suggested improvement for the manual transmission is that the reverse gear could be shorter. I could be falsely concluding this but those comments seem to come disproportionately from non-Rubicon owners. As a Rubicon owner I also think that the reverse could be slower but it is tolerable and not unlike any other manual I have ever driven... basically it can require extra feathering of clutch relative to say 1st gear, especially when reversing up hills.
You are not alone in that perception. My Rubi will easily do 30 mph in reverse. WHY??? What possible reason could anyone have to drive that fast in reverse? Reverse should be a creeper gear so I DON'T have to slip the clutch - or have to shift into low range!
Sponsored

wibornz

First Name
Ted
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Vehicle(s)
JL Unlimited Rubicon
Occupation
Retired from Corrections....I have stories.
There is of course THIS factor :LOL:
antitheft.png
I always get a giggle out of these memes. People act like driving a manual transmission is some secret dark magic skill that only a few can master, but in reality any seven year old with 5 minutes of training in a parking lot can do it.

wibornz

First Name
Ted
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Vehicle(s)
JL Unlimited Rubicon
Occupation
You are not alone in that perception. My Rubi will easily do 30 mph in reverse. WHY??? What possible reason could anyone have to drive that fast in reverse? Reverse should be a creeper gear so I DON'T have to slip the clutch - or have to shift into low range!