Sponsored

Is there a “safety factor” built-in to the auxiliary switches?

MyDaughters20JL

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
20 JL Sport S
just wondering if there is any kind of a “safety factor“ with the auxiliary switches. I have a bunch of lights that I am planning on wiring in and one of the sets at 12 V, would be 14.2 A. Is that pushing the limits of the 15 amp circuit on either number three or number four switches?
Sponsored

DHW

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
just wondering if there is any kind of a “safety factor“ with the auxiliary switches. I have a bunch of lights that I am planning on wiring in and one of the sets at 12 V, would be 14.2 A. Is that pushing the limits of the 15 amp circuit on either number three or number four switches?
They have fuses and relays. Personally I use wire that far exceeds the current draw of my accessory. And I'm no electrician but I'm pretty sure the 14.2 amps would be fine.

CarbonSteel

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Bronco Wildtrak
Vehicle Showcase

TheRaven

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU 80th
Occupation
Electrical, Mechanical, and Aerospace Engineering.