Sponsored

Anyone have buyer's remorse for ordering the 3.6 instead of the 2.0 Turbo.

ROTM

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR
I have the new 2.0 turbo, and had a 3.6 before. The 2.0 definitely has more passing power and juice for the on-ramp. Time will tell on maintenance, but I cannot imagine Mopar not supporting the platform long-term.

JL Fan

First Name
JL Fan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler JLU Sport S
For me....no interest in eTorqe (or e-anything, tbh). The 2.0 was peppy and quicker, no doubt. Went with the 3.6 b/c I wanted manual, and little history at the time I bought mine (7/19). And I plan on keeping mine for at least 10 years...at least.
Looks like reliability might not be an issue. I’m no engineer or mechanic (or smart), but I suspect that a 3.6 will last longer. But that’s it...just a suspicion. Still hate e-torque. (and not entirely sure why).

Sponsored

ROTM

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR
I ultimately decided against the eTorque. After some research, and much appreciated direct feedback at a dealership, it seemed that engine version could be short-lived. I have heard positive things regarding it’s increased capabilities, though. JL Fan is right.. the 3.6 has the proven history of longevity and likely the lengthiest list of capable mechanics of any engine platform in the US. Cannot go wrong with it.

Tread4Lo

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 w/ 3.0
Absolutely zero regret between the choices. I did think long and hard this year about going to the 3.0D, but my commute would kill that engine. 2 miles each way to work and home for lunch, so during the week roughly 50 miles of in town stop sign to stop sign.

The 3.6l sounds great, after removing hood insulation and the stupid beauty engine cover. Easy to do simple maintenance. Standard alternator design (I have the non-etorque).

Petey

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 jl sport manual