Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase

Here is the sound and wheel jerking. If you turn it in any direction other than straight, it makes that sound. If you turn it and hold it, this isn't full lock either, it will stop making the noise for a split second every so often and jerk the steering wheel. You can see it jerk the wheel when the noise stops.
How can I put this... THAT IS SERIOUSLY F'D UP.
You mean to tell me the dealer heard that noise and said it is normal? If they did I can not stress enough how you should find another dealer even to the point of driving an hour or more for one.
Sponsored

Last edited:

bhamjl

First Name
Justin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU Sahara
Following along as I've had the same issue...

Here's my experience thus far:
I bought a '19 JLU with 29k mi on it from a [chevy] dealer. During the test drive, I noticed it pulling right...which I just attributed to needing an alignment.
Next day, it went into a death wobble on the interstate at 70mph after a bridge bump.
Found this forum and the TSB, discovered the new steering stabilizer was installed backwards.
Chevy dealer took it to the Jeep dealer for warranty work.
When I picked it up from the Jeep dealer, I asked what they did to resolve. He said the stabilizer orientation wouldn't resolve a death wobble, but they flipped it around anyway. He said the steering gear was bad and replaced. They also checked the trac bar.