Sponsored

Help before I order! 6spd manual or Diesel, 34's & level kit, half door questions

rustybm

First Name
Ross
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Audi Q7
Hi,

I’m new to the JL forum – I realize there are many posts on some of these items, but I’m about to place my order on a JL and was hoping for some comments/opinions/help before I pull the trigger.

I’ve previously owned a 2011 Rubicon 6 spd manual which had virtually no mods to it other than aesthetics. I definitely enjoy the stickshift, but this is also my daily driver for the next few years and I do remember the ‘fun’ of bumper to bumper rush hour. I just test drove the '21 6spd Rubicon and thought it was great with the 3.6 Pentastar and thought I’d made my decision….then I went and test drove the diesel Rubicon. Think I’ve settled on the diesel based on additional torque and how smooth that 8spd is…just asking for any more opinions from those with 6spd envy or diesel 8spd regrets??

As my daily driver, I won’t be putting 37’s on it any time soon (prob 3-4yrs away)…I’m thinking 295/70-17’s or 305/70-17’s…would like to find appropriate levelling kit or possibly just use simple 1/2 to 1" spacers given the planned modest tire changes. Anyone do anything similar to this, or do most go straight to at least 35’s with a standard 2” lift kit? Don’t want to waste time or money or reduce suspension functionality. Also don’t want the tires sticking way out past the fenders so think I need some modest level of positive offset (or at least no offset change from current rims). I’d love the AEV Salta wheels, but sounds like this offset will create some issues on JL (vs JK). Any comments on level kits or modest lifts (.5” to 1.5”) along with tire/wheel combos??