Sponsored

Video of Manual Transmission--Clutch is GREAT!

OP
OP
DanW

DanW

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase
Off topic, but that lifetime warranty seems to be legit and worth it to you?
Yeah, my experience with my JK made me decide to do it. I plan on keeping this thing till the wheels fall off. That could easily be 25 years or more.
Sponsored

Ruby Jack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 JLUR
My biggest concern about ordering a manual was that my wife does not know how to drive one, and I am a horrible teacher. I was even more concerned after I read the motor trend review. Your video has put those concerns to rest - thanks! Now I am confident that she can learn.
Do you know who else doesn't know how to drive manuals? Most car thieves. It's the best anti-theft mechanism you can have in a vehicle. :)

Ruby Jack

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 JLUR
I feel less notchiness in this shifter than any I've driven before, including my 06 Solstice, which was truly a jewel. Any. No clicking/whirring. You can't hear the transmission, at all. Not like the JK. It is totally isolated and sound-deadened. I don't hear any of what you describe. I do hear much of that stuff with my JK, but not the marbles sound. (I do know what you are talking about). My JK doesn't make the clicking when accelerating, either. I have a new transmission in my JK that is vastly improved over the original, in both sound and smoothness, but it still makes some noise, because it can't be completely insulated out. It comes right up through the shifter. The JL, since it uses cables, can be insulated and the NVH can't transmit through the shifter. My JK doesn't grind, but again, I've seen what you are describing.

I'll be happy to make a video of low range. I'll try and do it this weekend, if I get a chance. I've got a dirt road nearby that will work just fine for that.