Dana 44 Limited Slip

mtbjeep

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS
Hi all. I posted this in the tech section but did not get a response so I thought I would try here. I have a 2018 JLU Sahara with the Dana 44 rear end and a LSD. I have read many posts about the clutch packs failing in these units and I know that mine "clunks" from time to time. It seems that some of the people who have had this problem have received replacements but the replacements seem to be the exact unit (i.e. no fix provided) and there have been significant hassles and delays just getting to that point. My background is in carpentry so if the rear diff was made of wood I could probably solve the problem on my own, but since it is most definitely not wood, I am in a place where I unfortunately have zero aptitude. So knowing what little I do about axles etc. it seems that it would be far easier to install an aftermarket LSD in the Dana 44 than go through all the BS and run around from the dealer and FCA. Is this doable and if so I would love some assistance figuring out which one to purchase.

Thanks!
Sponsored

Zotch

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Hella Sport S JL
How can you be sure the LSD is the issue?

OP
OP
mtbjeep

mtbjeep

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS
How can you be sure the LSD is the issue?
Fair point as it has not been diagnosed yet. It just seems to be a similar issue to the many threads and posts about the LSD.

VNT

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
SRT Challenger, 2015 Hemi Overland, 02 WJ 4.7, 2000 Durango, PT Cruisers, 2018 Punkn Sahara 2020 OB Rubicon
Have you changed the gear lube as yet, how many miles on the Jeep?

I would jack the jeep up and confirm it is still working, and if gear lube has not been changed, I would remove the cover and clean it out and refill with good synthetic with the posi additive, Amsoil or Red Line would be my choice.