Driving with 4x4 high on highway

m3reno

First Name
Sal
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Wrangler JLU
Went to Smith Point today driving on the beach!! Aired down to 17 lbs and the keep was flawless.......BUT after airing up and driving about 60 to 70 mph on the highway I realized I forgot to take it out of four wheel high. My question is, do you think I did any damage? Should I change the diffs oil?
Sponsored

Dan M.

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 sport (2 door)
Probably no damage. I believe you are more likely to do damage at low speeds with tight turns as the outside wheel will have to spin much faster than the inside wheel during tight turns which can cause binding. At highway speeds you are for the most part going straight. I believe if you caused damage you would know (wheel hop, terrible noises, etc). Please note, I am not a mechanic so I could be off base. This is just what I have read on threads and what I researched when deciding on the 4 wheel drive system I was going to get. Hopes this helps

oceanblue2019

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR 2.0L Auto
Occupation
Metrology
Went to Smith Point today driving on the beach!! Aired down to 17 lbs and the keep was flawless.......BUT after airing up and driving about 60 to 70 mph on the highway I realized I forgot to take it out of four wheel high. My question is, do you think I did any damage? Should I change the diffs oil?
You'll be fine unless you were doing figure 8's down the highway ;)

Sponsored

OP
OP
m3reno

m3reno

First Name
Sal
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Wrangler JLU
I feel much better. I think I will change the oil as a precaution. I went a total of 35 miles on the highway. The weird thing is I didn’t feel any binding until I came to the restaurant and slapped both hands on my head!!

Spank

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon, 2020 Dodge Challenger RT Scat Pack