First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon EcoDiesel (11th Jeep)
Occupation
Retired CFO. Mayo Clinic volunteer.
Up until now, the only Wranglers I've owned have been the lighter 2-doors. This time I think that I'm as heavy as possible: 4-doors, diesel, steel bumpers, heavy ACE rock rails, oversize tires. The braking really feels like it's struggling against the heft. Has anyone else noticed? Does Jeep differentiate in its brakes in a product line that varies in weight by at least 1,000 pounds: between a 2-door Sport and a 4-door diesel? Do they all have the same brakes?
Sponsored

AZ-Chris

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL Unlimited Rubicon Diesel
I'm no expert on this, but I believe that the Rubicon models have larger/better brakes than non-Rubicons.

limeade

First Name
Guy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Vehicle Showcase
I'm no expert on this, but I believe that the Rubicon models have larger/better brakes than non-Rubicons.
Yes, all Rubicon's have the "big" brakes, as well as the Sahara's. Not sure, but I think the Willy's might have the big brakes too.

I bled the brakes in my 2018 JLUR after 15k miles due to a spongy pedal feel and there was a lot of air in the lines. The pedal pressure seemed to improve, but I'm not overly impressed with the initial bite of the Rubicon brakes. The pads seem to last quite a long time though. I am planning on swapping my brake pads and rotors out for either the Powerstop Z36 kit or the Hawk kit sometime in the near future.

AZ-Chris

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL Unlimited Rubicon Diesel
I'd be interested to know the specific differences between the Rubicon/Sahara brakes and the standard Sport.

As far a brake performance is concerned, I've owned several Ford/Lincoln products over the years, and aside from my 2014 Ford Focus Electric, all have had spongy brakes . . . the Wrangler Rubicon has fantastic brake feel in comparison.

Jeff