Sponsored

jasmeetbabra

First Name
Jango Jeep
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU Wrangler Sport S
I called my dealership here in LA and they say parts are not available yet. Told me to call a month out..

Wanted to make sure this is covered under warranty?
Sponsored

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase

JLJeepGuy513

First Name
Ivan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS, 2016 Pathfinder
Occupation
Civil Engineering Designer
I don't know about all this software stuff and upgraded parts business, especially after having my 2021 JLUS for a few weeks now. Allow me to explain based on years of TJ ownership:

Jeep has been using virtually the same steering box setup for decades. I had a 99 TJ with a loose steering wheel dead spot in the middle, etc. The old school fix for that, preached in all the Jeep forums, was to tighten am exterior screw adjuster on the box itself which caused the steering gears to mesh more tightly. It was a tricky operation because you are trading a tighter feeling steering wheel for one that no longer returns to center on its own. I did mine and found a sweet spot where the wheel was tighter, less dead spot and free play, and it sort of returned to center with a little help. Tighten the screw too much and you have a safety issue where the wheel won't easily do that.

Now, flash forward to 2021 and I hear some people with 19, 20's complain about the same type of play I had with my old TJ. I get my 2021 and I notice right away the steering is pretty good, some typical play but tight. It also doesn't return to center on its own, just like my old TJ after I tightened the steering box screw!

I really wonder if Jeep's "fix" for 2021 was to just tighten that steering box adjuster up just a hair. Nothing more.