Rubycon50

First Name
Royce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Rubicon JL
Vehicle Showcase
I think you are going to be fine especially since you had a jeep dealership do it so you have the peace of mind of being able to return if there are any issues afterwards. Your insurance company should back you up as well.

My son and I replaced the frame on our 2018 JLUR in my driveway. It was major repair in terms of hours (7 months for the heavy haul part of it) but considering I'm no auto expert and there was very little online to assist with a 2018 it was really just about diving in and being logical and documenting what goes where and not rushing things. The only real technical issues I had after the replacement was electrical issues which for me were a real PIA. In terms of the quality of my own repairs I have found about 4-5 bolts I had failed to tighten since the repair was 'finished' and that was because they had to wait until a part came in etc. and I never got back to tightening them up. I have since gone over every exposed nut and bolt I could touch and everything is good now. The jeep drives straight and effortlessly now.

I do agree with a previous comment regarding repair versus replacement. I think most insurers will shy away or flat out deny frame repair because of liability reasons however in your case you're getting a new replacement and I think you should feel confident that the repair will bring the car back to normal feel. I would expect one or two visits maybe for little issues they may have forgot like me.

Things I would do after getting your jeep back from repair:
  1. Crawl under the jeep when you get it back and check the torque on all the bolts you can reach. Pay special attention to all the connections to the axle, control arms, fuel tank etc. Check your body bolts are all there, you can try to turn them but they will have loctite on them so that might be pointless, don't put a pry bar on them and go crazy...they do break.