Sponsored

Jeep roof rack with Sky One-Touch power top?

quadmania64

First Name
alberto
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrangler JLU with Power Top
Hi guys. Sorry if I'm not an expert on Jeep. I just got a new 2020 JLU with PowerTop.
The issue to install a rack using the gutter is that the gutter and its structure is made by fiberglass which is not strong enough to carry weights. Am I wrong?
Sponsored

barton

First Name
Pat
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU Sahara
I sold my '19 JLU w/ power top. I have a set of Thule 8" tall bases and 2 square Thule bars that I'd like to sell. The bases allow the roof to open and close without interference. Never used. I added awning brackets to one side of the bars as well. Thule no longer makes these bases. PM if interested. Probably local only - North Atlanta (Cumming).
Pat

Logos

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Rubicon
When I bought my Rubicon it had a Yakima rack using Yakimas 2 inch risers (I believe that's the height) and the one touch worked perfectly with it. Since I wanted a RTT I bought lodoffroads destroyer rack with cross members and just installed it, as long as you position the bars at correct intervals the one touch works with it as well.

Gee-pah

Banned
Banned
Banned
First Name
Andy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL Wrangler
Hi guys. Sorry if I'm not an expert on Jeep. I just got a new 2020 JLU with PowerTop.
The issue to install a rack using the gutter is that the gutter and its structure is made by fiberglass which is not strong enough to carry weights. Am I wrong?
Hi Alberto:

Let me answer this way. The MOPAR cross bars--which by the way I am not certain if they ride high enough to clear the open power top, are rated at what I understand are 150 pounds of total gear.

That's two bars with two connection points or 4 foot on the rain gutter.