Sponsored

jjdustr340

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 JKU, 2020 JLUW
i'm new to this jeep wrangler world. I drove two different JLU rubicon in the last week before a pull the trigger and buy one. I really like the the car a lot, how suspension works, engine power, interior, driving position......but steering wandering sucks. i wasn't expecting that to the point that i want to do a 3rd test drive with a non rubicon model to see how steering is in other trims? it was very disappointing experience to the point that I'm not sure if i want to buy it anymore.
my question is to the experts here, if this TSB solve this issue for real or I should expect seeing wandering as normal JLU behavior? and if it does why 2021 model don't come with that fix from factory??? should i wait for a 2022 model or maybe a late 2021 production model???
thanks for your help and excuse my total ignorance in driving a solid axle car
Solid front axle vehicles, such as the Wrangler, will have a tad bit of wander. That’s the nature of the beast. As an owner of multiple Jeeps through the years, I can say with 100% certainty that my wife’s 2020 had more wander than it should.
I had the TSB performed yesterday, and her Jeep now drives exactly as I would expect it to. That is, it doesn’t handle like a BMW, but it does drive better than my 2013 JKU as I would expect.
Apparently, the steering box in this TSB is standard on the 2021 models. There have been pics posted of it in the 2021s. So I would say that Jeep has fixed the issue to some degree.
Sponsored

1quick1

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS
Vehicle Showcase
My dealer is so busy I've been scheduled and the earliest I can get in is the 30th. I wonder if it's worth trying to get them to order the parts prior to bringing it in, dropping it off just to tell me they have to order the parts.

jjdustr340

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 JKU, 2020 JLUW