Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase

sourdough

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL
Huh? Raised the hood? Unless you live in the desert, the Jeep is designed to accommodate the heat that comes from the engine. I don't get this one at all...sorry. To each his own.
I live in SoCal and wheel hot dry dusty deserts and mountains. I like the A/C on and windows up when wheeling hot and or dusty conditions. This seems to put a heavy tax on the cooling system when crawling because my fan runs on high a lot. Having a winch in front of the grill doesn't help. Also the winch and ARB twin onboard air both have big battery draws and require the motor to be idling when in use. These often kick up the fan speed. Also, on the trail when motor is shut down for short periods. The engine temperature rises to the point where when motor is started back up the fan runs on high for awhile. The cooling system does work but when the fan is on high as needed it's rather annoying.
Thinking I can't add more air flow in but I can allow more air out. I simply raised the back of the hood as an experiment. Much easier and reversible vs cutting in hood vents which seems to be the norm.
Jeep Wrangler JL What did you do TO your Jeep JL today? jl hood hinge extention 2

Last edited:

OnlyOne

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Sport S Diesel on 37s
Jeep Wrangler JL What did you do TO your Jeep JL today? jl hood hinge extention 2

I can attest to fact the cover works great!!
Pretty cool. Off topic but this is a good example of how much bigger the JL got vs the TJ back in the day. I remember going to full doors on my TJ and complaining about losing arm room vs my half doors. Lol.

sourdough

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL
A/C works best when outside air is shut off and inside air is recirculated. Must be why there is a switch on the dash. Keeps trail dust out too.
I have done the JT grill screen swap. more air in and now better flow out.