Sponsored

Racor Hoist System

geauxtigers

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Unlimited Rubicon Recon
Hey guys! I ran across this thread while looking into hoist kits for my hardtop. My last Jeep was 20 years ago with a soft top, so this is my first time having to consider a hoist. Do you guys think this is the best option available? I was given a brand new Pittsburgh power hoist but haven’t purchased or fabricated any way to attach it to my top yet. The Racor/Topsy system seems like it may be a better option though

Ingrum

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.jlwranglerforums.com
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler Unlimited Sport; 2018 Jaguar F Pace
I installed mine this weekend. I have not used it to take off the top yet because of rain. But, I put some heavy stuff on it as a test.

I would say it's pretty easy to install. Not quick, just complicated. There's a good amount of "play" in the components to make for an easy installation. Instructions are fairly straight forward.

On the operation side, I have not hooked up a drill to it yet. But the mechanism operates solid. Not a ton of moving parts.

It essentially installed and operates exactly like I thought it would and should. Would love a rolling rack, but this is perfect for the price.

Ingrum

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.jlwranglerforums.com
Vehicle(s)
Has anyone installed this system with the hoisting mechanism to the side instead of the back? Seems like it would work fine.

I'm finding that the spare gets in the way of efficiently twirling the bar and I also cannot have the back window open and twirl the bar. Mine has to fit too close to the wall to open then tailgate and then open the rear window.

BenjNoah

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Sahara, 2015 Acura MDX
Those topsy hooks, do they stay on the top permanently? Or do you just put them on to take the top off?

Sponsored

BWWJL

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JLU Sport S
Vehicle Showcase