Status
Not open for further replies.

KSpider

First Name
Noah
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Audi E-tron (x2) ’21, Rubicon 4xe Nacho (on order)
Charging stations or E-Trons?
Eh, for EV Wranglers... E-trons don't have charging stations, they use universal stations. Tesla is the only manufacture with their own non-universal chargers. This is a free level 2 station in Moab by the park, but only one plug...

jrob529

First Name
Jay
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited
Eh, for EV Wranglers... E-trons don't have charging stations, they use universal stations. Tesla is the only manufacture with their own non-universal chargers. This is a free level 2 station in Moab by the park, but only one plug...
I didn't have any idea...that's why I asked- I'm new to the hybrid game. I assumed all charging stations were universal. So the stations I see throughout my hometown are most likely level 2 stations?

Sponsored

KSpider

First Name
Noah
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I didn't have any idea...that's why I asked- I'm new to the hybrid game. I assumed all charging stations were universal. So the stations I see throughout my hometown are most likely level 2 stations?

Most stations are Level 2 (this is what you can have installed at home), which charge at a speed of about 5-10 kW. Now, we don't know how big the battery pack will be in the 4xe wrangler, but its likely a level 2 station will charge it from empty to full in a couple hours.

There are also DC Fast charging stations that range from 35kW - 350kW output. For example, my e-tron takes about 9 hours to charge from empty on a level 2 station, but on a fast charger (it can take 150kW) it goes from 0-80% in 30 minutes, this is what allows an EV to actually be used effectively outside your home area (i.e. road trip.)
I doubt the Wrangler 4xe will have fast charging capability, it isn't really needed with a PHEV.