Sponsored

3.6L vs 2.0 turbo?? Pros and cons of both??

Rossp

First Name
Ross
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Sahara
I have the 2.0T in my ‘19 Sahara and so far have enjoyed it. My last two cars had 2.0 turbo engines (Bimmers, different animal) so I’ve become accustomed to it. If your picky about Available options and color, I would let that govern.
Sponsored

GGolds

First Name
Gerry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler 2019 JLU Sahara. 3.6, V6. Mojito with a black hard top. Tan leather. 2019 Jeep Cherokee Limited.
Occupation
Paramedic
Hi all,
I am new to the JL fam. I currently am a loud and proud owner of a 2005 TJ with the 4 liter straight 6, but recently have been having issues with it (body rust as I live on the East Coast) and have ultimately decided to put it up for sale and purchase a newer Jeep. I will be outright buying this "new" Jeep, so I can only afford a 2018 or 2019, not a brand new 2020 or 2021. I know that I for sure want a Rubicon. The thing that I am stuck on is which engine to get. I have been hearing great things about the new turbo, but I really don't know what to do.

My question is: Should I get one with a 3.6L or the 2.0 Turbo? What are the pros and cons to both? My primary concern is longevity, I want to keep this Jeep for a long time and have the least possible issues with it. Which engine would be in closest comparison (I know neither one is the same at all) to the 4.0 in the TJ's?

Any thoughts or comments would be greatly appreciated!!
The 3.6L is the right choice in my opinion. Although the 4 turbo has had good reviews, it is a very new and very complicated engine initially designed and made for the Alpha Romeo cars. Put that into a 4wd Off Road vehicle that it was never designed to be in initially, and longevity is a huge question mark. The 6 is a strong, proven engine. Time tested and durable. It pulls well and works flawlessly with the 8spd automatic. Play it safe and get a great engine and get the 6.