Sponsored

Went to rescue a friend, do I need to check my fluids and such?

noloc45

First Name
Gary
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR, 2004 IS300
Occupation
QA Engineer/RPA Dev
Hello all!

Happy Independence day! (I know, it was a couple of days ago)

So forgive my ignorance, I have a 2019 Rubicon and its the first off road/4x4 vehicle ive ever owned. Im quite new to all of this but have learned much from everyone here on the forums.

So a week ago my buddy got stuck in some deep, goopy mud in the forest. Ive never done anything similar. Never used the winch or anything. Went out to rescue him. It was raining and it was on very slick clay/clay-like dirt.

I first tried using winch and I was sliding on the wet clay. We had put traction pads under his tires but it just wasnt happening. I then put it in 4H. Nothing, just starting digging into the mud. After progressively going up (or down) the list of 4x4 powers I had, finally I was in 4x4 with both front and rear lockers engaged and easily got him out. Probably should have just tried that to begin with but again, first time doing this.

Anyway, to the experts...should I be worried about anything? Should I check my fluids? Should I do some kind of maintenance? Was my progression into 4x4/lockers on correct or should this have just been the first thing I do?

Any advice/information/help is much appreciated!

Thank you!
Sponsored

Notorious

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2000 TJ Sahara
...should I be worried about anything? Should I check my fluids? Should I do some kind of maintenance? Was my progression into 4x4/lockers on correct or should this have just been the first thing I do? Any advice/information/help is much appreciated! Thank you!
Sounds like you had some fun going offroad. If you’re ever concerned about mechanical operation, would it hurt to read thru the owner’s manual on how and when to use the 4wd system?