AZ Hella

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR
Vehicle Showcase
Basically, Zero delay, lift your foot from the brake and the engine reengages. Way soother than the KL, where the Auto had to reengage the dog clutch on 1/2. If you flat-footed the accelerator right away, it could lurch significantly.
That’s what I figured. The system seems to be on par with every other platform out there. Personally I just don’t like it because the A/C obviously doesn’t work when it’s shut down. In the winter I use it. It saves a smidge of fuel.
Sponsored

Sean L

First Name
Sean
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU, 2017 Honda Accord, 2014 Yamaha XVS 1300
Occupation
Retired Marine, Construction Estimator
Vehicle Showcase
I’m a 3 foot driver ( manual ) and the system is super instantaneous. As soon as you touch the clutch the engine starts Obviously I don’t have an auto but I can’t imagine there is much of a delay going on.
I always thought I would like the ESS on the manual better, but the one time I got to drive a manual JT, the battery was low so ESS didn't kick in before I made it back to the dealer. would have been nice to get a feel for it.

JEEPIDON

First Name
Charlie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon, 2021 Gladiator Rubicon, 2013 Ram2500
Occupation
Retired - Business Consultant
Doesn’t seem that important with all of the shit going on right now!

Kraty1

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited JL
Occupation
Sales & Marketing
I would prefer, that if the vehicle comes to an autostop, and shifted into park that the engine should remain off. If the door is opened and the key departs the vehicle, it should treat that as a total ignition shutdown since its a pushbutton system.