Help Me Decide

blessidsoul12

First Name
Jordan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 billet silver JLUR, 2019 chevy suburban
If I had been clueless and bought a new 2017 JK in 2017 I would have been PISSED when I saw my first JL just one year later... or worse if I had bought an '18 JK

Thoughts about JKs:

They were designed and assembled by kindergarteners. They are underpowered. Their stock fenders look like the machine just ran out of plastic and stopped. They wander all over the road. They had a strong CHROME aftermarket following. Their grilles are straight up and down with no contour and are made of super cheap plastic. JK also birthed the Dragon Edition.

Good luck getting that windshield flipped down...
Sponsored

Rolling Ragu

First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None
I started my shopping in '18 and was clueless. I remember the salesman trying to convince me that the JK was the better buy (at nearly the same price). I'm really glad I'm a researcher. I took two years of education before I pulled the trigger.

jakebrake

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 wrangler rubicon recon
Kindly throw me in the new category. If for no other reason, warranty. The other reason, is with buying a used vehicle, you never really know how the other person maintained it. Every car on a used car lot was owned by a little old lady who only used it to drive to church once a week.

Sponsored

Biohazard

First Name
Nathan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR (sold May 2020); now own 2020 trd pro Tacoma
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
I’ve experience in both.

The Jk rubicon is a more capable stock vehicle, but only if you’re interested in big time trails. It also has a lot of aftermarket support, the JL is pretty close.

The JK is held together with paper clips, and ride and interior noise is a lot worse. The JL rides like a dream in comparison.

I also vote JL, especially if you are actually going to do what you said—light trails, daily driving.